May 26, 2008 the last time Iowa Western beaten in a run rule game, losing to Shelton State CC 10-2. Until, the Reivers met their match in the North West Florida State Raiders who won 10-0 in six innings. Shocking to JUCO World Series fans and media to see Iowa Western out of character, not to mention, getting completely shut down offensively.

The 10-0 win, in six innings, for North West Florida St. snaps Iowa Western’s 11-game winning streak at the JUCO World Series. The Raiders came into the game with a chip on their shoulders playing the game with the underdog mentality, like they have all year long. North West Florida St. started the game in the bottom of the 1st scoring five runs, putting the shock-and-awe factor in the game early. To Iowa Western’s credit those five runs came very early in the game giving them time to climb back in it. The Reivers, however, ran into a focused pitcher on the mound for North West Florida, Brian Browning. Browning the lefty from Homewood, AL, took the mound throwing a complete game, 6 inning’s, shutout on one of the hottest offensive teams in the country. Iowa Western down by five trying to get back in it tallied six total hits in the game.

Browning’s dominance on the mound shutdown the Reiver bats not allowing them to put multiple hits together extending innings. The final five runs for North West Florida came in the final inning ending the game on the 10-run rule in six innings. Browning finished giving up six hits, two walks, five strikeouts on 88 pitches. JUCO World Series MVP from last year, Alex Krupa, failed to tally a hit in three at-bats. Iowa Western’s Jordan Getzelman got two hits in three at-bats having the most success against Browning.

The win for North West Florida St., 2-0 in the JUCO World Series, places them in the next round taking on Chattahoochee Valley Community College, AL. The 10-0 loss for the Iowa Western Reivers puts them in the loser’s bracket, where Iowa Western has battled through to win the tourney in 2012, taking on Yavapai Community College, AZ.

Click here to view the JUCO World Series photo gallery.