The Denver Broncos have decided not to add anyone to their Ring of Fame this year. This will mark the first time since 2011 that the committee has not added a member to the team’s ring of fame.

Former Denver Bronco Mark Cooper discusses the Broncos Ring of Fame and who he thought should’ve been added, Cooper joined Gil Whiteley and Mark Jackson of Mile High Sports AM 1340 | FM 104.7 to discuss the Broncos’ Ring of Fame.

When asked on who he thought should’ve been added to the Ring of Fame; Mike Shanahan was a no brainer for Cooper.


Eligible participants for the Broncos Ring of Fame are those who have been out of the NFL for at least five years. Making Shanahan eligible next year.

“Well that’s silly. That’s actually silly,” said Cooper. “Why wait five years? If he deserves it throw him in there.”

John Elway is the only Broncos Ring of Fame Member that didn’t have to wait the full five years.

“Well Shanahan should be waived too,” said Cooper.

Eligible players that could have been inducted this year into the Ring of Fame include former receiver Ed McCaffrey and former linebacker Al Wilson.

The last five inductees can be seen below:

Red Miller (2017), Jason Elam (2016), Simon Fletcher (2016), John Lynch (2016), and Pat Bowlen (2015).

Champ Bailey will become eligible next year and should be a lock, along with Mike Shanahan. Peyton Mannning will also be a lock in the future, but he will not be eligible until 2021.

Click here to listen to the full interview with Mark Cooper
, including his thoughts on the Broncos OTAs.

Sorry – this audio content is no longer available.

Catch Anything’s Possible with Whiteley and Jackson every weekday from 11a-1p on Mile High Sports AM 1340 | FM 104.7 or stream live any time for the best local coverage of Colorado sports from Denver’s biggest sports talk lineup. Download the all-new free Mile High Sports Radio mobile app forApple or Android.