Outlaws protect 12 players in advance of expansion draft

On Thursday the Denver Outlaws announced the team has protected 12 players from its 23-man roster in advance of the Nov. 18 expansion draft and Dec. 16 supplemental draft.

In Major League Lacrosse, a team may protect a maximum of 12 players from its 23-man roster prior to the expansion and supplemental drafts.

Denver elected to protect Erik Adamson (Midfield), Wes Berg (Attack), John Grant Jr. (Attack), Anthony Kelly (Midfield/FO), Eric Law (Attack), Christopher O’Dougherty (Defense), Dillon Roy (Defense), Max Schmidt (Defense), Jeremy Sieverts (Midfield), Michael Simon (Defense), Drew Snider (Midfield) and Dillon Ward (Goalie).

Grant was the MVP of the 2014 MLL Championship match, won by Denver. Kelly, Law, Snider, O’Dougherty, Roy, Sieverts, Simon and Snider also played in that championship match.

The 2015 Outlaws missed the MLL Playoffs for the first time in the club’s 10 year history.