Tag: bill tierney

DU lacrosse ousted by Albany after 15-13 NCAA quarterfinal loss

Trevor Baptiste against T.D. Ierlan lived up to expectations as No. 2 Albany outlasted unseeded DU on its way to a 15-13 victory to advance to its first appearance in Championship Weekend.

DU Pioneers lacrosse to face Georgetown tomorrow in Big East Final

With a win on Thursday, the Pioneers will face Georgetown in the Big East Finals, Saturday at Noon.

Denver claims No. 1 seed in the Big East through defensive...

Denver puts together a 12-2 win over Providence. Freshman Ethan Walker puts up eight points, while the Pioneers defense smothers the Friars offense.

Bill Tierney closes in on all-time wins mark in 500th game...

DU lacrosse head coach Bill Tierney is second in Division I wins with 377, and is three wins behind Duke coach John Danowski.

Denver Pioneers face off against St. John’s in meaningful Big East...

The Denver Pioneers men’s lacrosse team is headed to sea level this weekend to face off against Big East Division rival St. John’s.

Denver and Villanova square off in a game of threes

Big East teams Villanova and Denver faced off at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium. With offensive talent on both teams, the match became a game of runs.

Denver bests Notre Dame in clash of opposing tactics

These powerhouses each had a hard fought game through their respective approaches to the game of lacrosse make these two such an entertaining sight.

DU lacrosse records first shutout in D-I, hands Bill Tierney Denver...

Tierney recorded his 100th victory at DU, the first coach in NCAA D-I history to reach 100 career wins in 140 career games at two different institutions.

Experienced Pioneers and high-flying Falcons set to face off

The Denver Pioneers are ranked third overall, with their first game against the 17th ranked Air Force Academy Falcons to come on Saturday.

Mile High Sports Sportsperson of the Year: Bill Tierney, University of...

Bill Tierney just wanted someone to hurl profanity his way. Six years later he's our Sportsperson of the Year.