Three legends from the Colorado Buffaloes college football program have an excellent chance to be immortalized in the Chick-Fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia, after being named finalists this week.

Eric Bieniemy, Deon Figures and Matt Russell, three legendary players for the CU Buffs, are now officially among the 78 finalists for the Hall of Fame.

Bieniemy rushed for 3,940 yards and 41 touchdowns during his time with the Colorado Buffaloes. He also helped guide the program to its lone national championship in 1990 — the same season Bieniemy was named a unanimous All-American and the Big Eight Offensive Player of the Year. He also spent two seasons as the university’s running backs coach and two seasons as their offensive coordinator.

Figures was also a member of the 1990 national championship team, and, in 1992, won both the Jack Tatum Trophy and the Jim Thorpe Award — both honoring the nation’s most impressive defensive back. Figures was also a consensus All-American in 1992.

Last but certainly not least, we have Matt Russell. Russell missed out on the national championship, but provided a dominant linebacking presence for the Colorado Buffaloes during the mid 90s. He graduated as the school’s all-time solo tackle champion (282) and second in program history in total tackles (446). He also won the Butkus Award, awarded to the nation’s best linebacker, in 1996.

Of the 78 players and coaches named as finalists for the College Football Hall of Fame, it’s likely that just a little over 20 are ultimately voted in by the NFF Honors Court this season. In 2022, 21 individuals were selected, and, in 2023, 22 players and coaches were enshrined.

So, although it’s unlikely every finalist from the Colorado Buffaloes makes it in, it’s very easy to imagine at least one making the cut.