BOULDER – University of Colorado senior Tristan da Silva is one of 20 watch-list members for the 2024 Karl Malone Award announced by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame on Thursday

Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor, in its 10th year, recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Da Silva was a 2022-23 All-Pac-12 Conference First Team selection as a junior, leading Colorado at 15.9 points per game on just under 50 percent shooting. He led the Buffaloes with 54 3-point field goals and 44 steals while ranking second on the team in rebounding with 168.

The preseason honors are rolling in for da Silva. Colorado’s active career leader in scoring, da Silva was named to Blue Ribbon Yearbook’s Preseason All-America Fourth Team and named Preseason All-Pac-12 by both league media and the Almanac, while also being named the latter publication’s 56th best player in the nation. A truly position-less player, da Silva topped’s Andy Katz’s list of top small forwards in the nation and listed as one of his top 10 seniors in the nation overall.

“We are proud to recognize this group of student-athletes as the best power forwards in the collegiate game this season,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. “To be named to the watchlist of the Karl Malone Award is a great honor, and we are excited to have Karl’s unique perspective alongside our selection committee each year.”

Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds beginning Friday, Oct. 27. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2024 Karl Malone Award will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February, to just five. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee, where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2024 Karl Malone Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard), Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving Award (Small Forward), and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Award are Trayce Jackson-Davis, Houston (2023), Keegan Murray, Iowa (2022), Drew Timme, Gonzaga (2021), Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020), Zion Williamson, Duke (2019), Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

For more information on the 2024 Karl Malone Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophallu and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram.

2024 Karl Malone Award Candidates*

Enrique Freeman Akron Coleman Hawkins Illinois
Grant Nelson Alabama Oso Ighodaro Marquette
Keshad Johnson Arizona Julian Reese Maryland
Trevon Brazile Arkansas Norchad Omier Miami (Fla.)
Fouesseyni Traore BYU Tolu Smith Mississippi State
Tristan da Silva Colorado Jevon Porter Pepperdine
DaRon Holmes II Dayton Bryce Hopkins Providence
Kyle Filipowski Duke Adem Bona UCLA
Graham Ike Gonzaga Alex Karaban UConn
J’Wan Roberts Houston Drew Pember UNC Asheville

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2023-24 season*


Story by Troy Andre, Associate Director/Athletic Communications and Content courtesy of the University of Colorado at Boulder.