The Colorado Eagles are going back to the Kelly Cup Finals.

After winning the Kelly Cup last season, the Eagles have an opportunity to win back-to-back titles this year, the final year they’ll compete in the ECHL. That’s because, next year, the Eagles are movin’ on up to the AHL.

First, how did they make it this far?

In the 4-3 overtime thriller last night, the Eagles had to come back from multiple deficits before Ryan Olsen scored the game-winner 10:43 into the overtime period. The Fort Wayne Komets jumped out to a 1-0 lead when defenseman Cody Sol put a puck between the pipes, and Colorado tied it up 1-1 when Drayson Bowman scored with 4:50 left in the first period.

The scoring wasn’t over in that period yet, though, as Komets forward Jamie Schaafsma picked off a puck and lit the lamp with only 41 seconds left in one. The second period resulted in zero scoring, although each team had a power play opportunity each.

In the third period, things started looking bleak for the Eagles when Shawn Szydlowski beat Joe Cannata to push the Komets lead to 3-1 with just under 12 minutes to play.

That’s when Colorado started roaring back inside the Budweiser Events Center. First, it was Matt Garbowsky, who deflected a pass into the net to bring the game to 3-2 with 8:00 left on the clock. Later in the period, Joey Ratelle fired a wrist shot between the pipes to tie the game up at 3-3 with only 3:09 to go in regulation.

Onto overtime the two teams went, in the deciding Game 7 of the series, and Olsen’s goal on the power play gave the Eagles the 4-3 victory and the 4-3 series win as well.

Here’s a look at how “The Keg” was rockin’ after that victory:

The Kelly Cup Finals will kick off with Game One on Friday, May 25 at 7:05 pm at the Budweiser Events Center, with Game Two set for Sunday, May 27 at 7:05 pm at the BEC. Tickets for all home games in the Kelly Cup Final will go on sale at 10am on Thursday, May 24thand can purchased at the BEC box office, online at or by calling (970) 686-SHOT.