BOULDER – Colorado QB Shedeur Sanders is one of the 20 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top quarterback.

Three finalists for the award will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 28. The winner will then be unveiled on Friday, Dec. 8 as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN. Sanders would be the first player to win the award at Colorado.  Darian Hagan was the runner-up in 1989 and Sanders joins Kordell Stewart (1994), Koy Detmer (1996) and John Hessler (1997) as semifinalist for the award.

Sanders, in his first season at Colorado after transferring from Jackson State has led the team to averaging 30.7 points per game, nearly double the amount from the previous season for the Buffs. He has thrown for 3,144 yards and 26 touchdowns on 69.5 completion percentage. His yards and touchdowns both currently rank fifth nationally, while his completion percentage ranks 12th. All are on pace to break school records by the end of the season.

On another award front, Travis Hunter was named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll for the sixth time this season.  The Paul Hornung Award is given to the most versatile player in college football. Hunter has received the weekly honor after every time he has competed in a full game. Last week against Arizona, Hunter had five receptions for 74 yards on offense, while recording six tackles, one tackle for a loss, and one pass deflection on the defensive side of the ball.

Shilo Sanders was also named honorable mention to the National Football Foundation Colorado Chapter’s state player of the week for his performance against Arizona when he led the team in tackles and had a pass breakup.


Story by Aiden Tank, Athletic Communication Associate for Content courtesy of the University of Colorado at Boulder.