Steve Antonopulos will present Pat Bowlen at the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Jan 24, 2016; Denver, CO, USA; Denver Broncos trainer Steve Antonopulos talks with Denver Broncos free safety Darian Stewart (26) during the second half in the AFC Championship football game at Sports Authority Field at Mile High. Mandatory Credit: Chris Humphreys-USA TODAY Sports

The Denver Broncos announced on Tuesday that Director of Sports Medicine Steve “Greek” Antonopulos will present Pat Bowlen at his Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

As Bowlen’s presenter, Antonopulos will lead the Bowlen family in unveiling the bronzed bust during the HOF Enshrinement Ceremony on Saturday, Aug. 3, in Canton, Ohio.

“I was overwhelmed with emotion when I was asked to be Mr. Bowlen’s presenter,” Antonopulos said. “I feel very honored and very humbled. It’s one of the greatest things I’ve ever been asked to do in my life.”

Antonopulos is the only team employee that has worked with the Broncos during Bowlen’s entire tenure as team owner (1984 – present). The veteran trainer is entering his 44th season with the Broncos in 2019 – and will be only the second athletic trainer to present at the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

“If you really look at it, it’s all about Mr. Bowlen,” Antonopulos said. “We developed a really neat relationship over all the years that he’s been here. It’s certainly unique – he’s not only my boss but he’s my friend. That’s what makes it even more of an honor to do this, especially with the request coming from his family.”

Throughout his 43 years with the organization, including 37 as the Broncos head athletic trainer, Antonopulos has worked more than 900 total games. He has been part of 22 postseason appearances, 15 AFC West titles and three Super Bowl victories.

In 2011, Antonopulos was honored with the Fain-Cain Memorial Award, which is annually given to an NFL trainer that best exemplifies a long-term commitment to the NFL as well as exemplary performance. Antonopulos has also been honored on numerous other occasions, including winning the NATA Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award (2006).